Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Who are School Governors and what role do they play in a school?


School Governors are drawn from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff or from the LA, the community and other groups. This helps ensure the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience, but does not mean governors of a particular category represent that group on the governing body.

  • Parent Governors are drawn from parents and carers of children at the school and are selected by election.
  • Staff Governors are selected by election from teaching and support staff paid to work at the school.
  • The Headteacher is always invited to join the governing body by reason of their role in the school.
  • Local authority governors are appointed by the Local Authority.
  • Foundation governors are appointed by the Bishop, through the Parish Priest and must be a practising Catholic in the Diocese of Lancaster.

Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have a vital role in raising school standards and driving forward improvements. The role of the Governing Board is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. In a catholic school the Governing Board are the employers

The Governing Board appoints a Chair and Vice-Chair annually and allocates its responsibilities across various committees.

Sacred Heart Local Governing Body. 

Annual Governance Statement

The Local Governing Body is made up of ten members. 6 Foundation Governors, 2 Parent Governors, 1 Staff Governor and 1 Headteacher. 


  • Mrs S Beach (Headteacher) Ex Officio by virtue of appointment as Headteacher. Term of office ends when employment at the school ceases.  

  • Mrs M Zebryk (Chair), Foundation Governor. Appointed by Bishop/ Trust. Term of office 4 years 10/11/2023 to 09/11/2027.   
  • Mrs J Jones (Vice Chair) Foundation Governor. Appointed by Bishop/ Trust. Term of office 4 years 01/11/2022 to 31/10/2026.

  • Mrs M Ross Foundation Governor. Appointed by Bishop/ Trust. Term of office 4 years 15/07/2022 to 14/07/2026.

  • Mrs S Bibby Parent Governor. Elected by parents/ carers. Term of office 4 years 28/04/2022 to 27/04/2026.

  • Mrs J Marshall Staff Governor. Elected by staff. Term of office 4 years 07/02/2022 to 06/02/2026.

  • Mrs C Waite Term of office 12/05/2023 to 11/05/2027


  • Mr P Lewis School Business Manager. No voting rights.

  • Mrs R Jewell Clerk to Governors.  No voting rights. 

2 vacancies currently exist for a Foundation Governor.  


  • Zoe Duncan Term of office 23/09/2020 to 22/09/2026. Date resignation accepted by LGB 20/03/2023. 
  • Mr P Croft Chair of Governors. Appointed by Bishop/ Trust. Term of office 4 years 05/12/2022 to 05/03/2026. Resignation date 31/08/2023
  • Mr R Sharpe Foundation Governor. Appointed by Bishop/ Trust. Term of office 4 years 15/07/2022 Resignation date 27/11/2023